top of page
AMC 004
Format: CD - Digipack 4 pages
Release date: 03.06.2016
Genre: Jazz

The IPOCONTRIO project was conceived in 2009, when three musicians from Salerno in Southern Italy, Bruno Salicone (piano), Francesco Galatro (bass), and Armando Luongo (drums) met and decided to form a trio to perform original compositions.

The main feature of their music is the love for jazz and improvisation. Their vibe merges into a very personal sound that moves in a continuous interplay between the soulful melodic lines drawn by the pianist Bruno Salicone and the swinging rhythm section. 

In 2009 the band won the “European Jazz Contest”, organized by the St.Louis Jazz College of Music. Their first album, “The Beginning of a Love Affair”, was released in 2011 and produced by the St.Louis Jazz Collection.

Following the release, the trio gained the opportunity to play concerts all over Europe playing with musicians such as Jean-Paul Estievenart (Django D’or 2006), Frank Vaganée (Brussels Jazz Orchestra), Hugo Contini, Filippo Bianchini, Kenny Jeanney (The Amazing Keystone Big Band), Phil Abram (Maceo Parker). This international experience served as a source of inspiration that led them to experiment new musical compositions and continue to compose even more original charts. 

In New York in 2013, drummer Armando Luongo met trumpeter Alessandro Presti (Critics Prize Massimo Urbani 2014), and this encounter produced Ipocontrio's second and most current album, “Continuum”. This effort proves that these musicians embody the Afro-American lexicon, they know how to swing, and their music is fresh and charming, always performed with a fine technique. 

The recording is enhanced the presence of Alessandro Presti on trumpet on all tracks and Daniele Scannapieco on saxophone on two tracks, two superb and well-known Italian artists complete the trio sound in a blend of compelling soulful swinging jazz.

Ipocontrio - Continuum

  • 1Asintoto5:44
    2Dear Bill5:27
    3Gae's Themi6:24
    4Mr. PC6:39
    5Love Me5:09
    6Ma L'Anima Non Muore4:20
    8Volta Strada6:20

    Total Time:45:52

    Bruno Salicone Piano
    Francesco Galatro Double Bass
    Armando Luongo Drums

    Alessandro Presti Trumpet
    Daniele Scannapieco Sax on “Ma L’Anima Non Muore” and “Gae’s Theme”

    Recorded at Zork Studio January 2015

    Executive Producer: Antonio Martino

    p+c 2016 A.MA Edizioni
bottom of page