top of page
Format: CD - Digipack 4 pages
Release date: 11.08.2017

Pianist/composer Jussi Fredriksson, a key player in the active Finnish jazz scene, releases his new trio album “!” though his own imprint Fredriksson Music in June in Germany, and during the fall 2017 worldwide. The trio, comprising of Fredriksson, bassist Jori Huhtala, and drummer Mika Kallio, presents six original compositions by Fredriksson.
The new album highlights his ability to write energetic and forward-thinking pieces for the trio in the tradition of such minimalist jazz masters as Ahmad Jamal and Thelonious Monk. That being said, the band is on their own path, making music which is distinctively their own. Fredriksson has composed the music in Paris, where he spent a month a year ago.
“The sidewalks and galleries of Paris can be heard in the music”, Fredriksson says. “This is the classic Paris period every artist has at some point, I suppose. For myself the city offered a different kind of resonation for the creative thought, and thus opened up a new chapter in my personal songbook.”
Fredriksson’s compositions have a highly narrative quality, which makes his musical ideas unravel in a surprising, yet logical way. The endings are often unpredictable, and the trio’s way to get there a joy to follow. At the core of the sound of the Jussi Fredriksson Trio is a strong sense of unity, and an understanding of how each player in the trio can bring their own personality in the music.
As Fredriksson’s previous work “?” was an open question in musical form, it’s counterpart “!” can be heard as a conclusion. The CD/digital issue of the new album will be followed by a double vinyl LP set bringing together the two albums.
Jussi Fredriksson (born 1980) is an influential figure in the Finnish jazz scene and beyond. As a musician, Fredriksson can be heard as a pianist/keyboardist in Jussi Fredriksson Trio and Nassaun Fasaani. As a drummer, he leads the quintet Fredator.

Jussi Fredriksson Trio - !

    1 Spy 10:19
    2 Brick By Brick 6:39
    3 Maybe Tomorrow 5:57
    4 Action 6:53
    5 Mercurius 3:36
    6 High 5:51

    Jussi Fredriksson - piano Jori
    Huhtala - bass
    Mika Kallio - drums
bottom of page