top of page
Format: CD - Digipack 4 pages
Release date: 28.12.2012
Jazz: Vocal

Flying Solo is a debut album of a young Finnish jazz vocalist, composer and band leader, Nina Mya. The band on the album consist of her student friends from Sibelius Academy: Tuomas Turunen (pno), Sampo Hiukkanen (sax), Teemu Åkerblom (bass) and Mikko Arlin (drs). The album was published in the summer 2012 (Fredriksson Music) when Mya was also rewarded with the title of The Artist Of The Year by Pori Jazz Festival. Flying Solo derives inspiration from the american jazz from the 50's and 60's, all the way from soul jazz to modal jazz. The album is a versatile and strong presentation from an artist who is not afraid to put her life stories to her compositions and lyrics. The setlist consist of Nina's compositions except for one jazz standard, "I'm A Fool To Want You". By this album Nina Mya has been described as a bridge builder between the more traditional and modern vocal jazz. It opened her career in Finland and instantly raised her to the top of Finnish jazz scene.

Nina Mya - Flying Solo

    1 Illusion 4:51
    2 Sleepless 7:09
    3 Flying Solo 5:21
    4 When You Leave 6:10
    5 Solitary 5:41
    6 Before The Dawn 5:41
    7 I‘m A Fool To Want You 6:31
    8 The Heat 6:43
    9 One More Time 6:17

    Nina Mya - Vocals
    Tuomas Turunen - Piano
    Sampo Hiukkanen - Tenor Saxophone Teemu Åkerblom - Bass
    Mikko Arlin - Schlagzeug
bottom of page